GHS Compliant SDSs

Home / GHS Compliant SDSs

WORKER FATALITIES 4,679 workers died on the job in 2014

MSDSs, as was mentioned earlier, are redefined as SDSs under GHS and remain the backbone of HCS and WHMIS compliance. Under GHS, SDSs are presented in a 16 section format with a required ordering of sections. It is essentially the ANSI Standard for SDSs, with a few minor tweaks. The sections, in order, are as follows:

  1. Identification
  2. Hazard(s) Identification
  3. Composition/Ingredient Information
  4. First-Aid Measures
  5. Fire-Fighting Measures
  6. Accidental Release Measures
  7. Handling and Storage
  8. Exposure Control/Personal Protection
  9. Physical & Chemical Properties
  10. Stability & Reactivity
  11. Toxicological Information
  12. Ecological Information
  13. Disposal Considerations
  14. Transport Information
  15. Regulatory Information
  16. Other Information

To be GHS-compliant, an SDS needs all 16 sections; however, OSHA will not be enforcing information contained in sections 12-15, which fall outside the Agency’s jurisdiction. With GHS alignment, employers should prepare for a large influx of new SDSs to occur within a short time frame.